Leaving the building…

So on the first day of classes, I always do a short schpiel about how I am terrible with names and how it will take me three weeks to learn their names. And then I go on to say that I might learn their names in class in three weeks, but this is bound to happen outside of class.:

They are walking past me in the hallway and decide to say “hi Mr. Shah!” And then I give a very short, curt wave, abruptly say “hi” and then run away.

Why? Because seeing them outside of class is even harder for me when trying to place faces with names. So I run away awkwardly rather than admit I don’t know their names. I also said if they were nice they could say “in case it helps, I’m STU from Precalculus” or whatever. Or they could be eviiiiil and just laugh maniacally when they say hi.

Today I was leaving the school building and one of my students laughed maniacally and said “Hiiiiii Mr. Shah!” in a taunting, mocking tone. GAME ON. You wouldn’t believe it but this was one of the two students names/FACES I learned on the first day. And so in the first round of…

MY STUPID BRAIN WHICH CAN’T RECOGNIZE FACES OR CONNECT THEM WITH NAMES versus THE CONTINGENT OF TAUNTING MOCKING STUDENTS WHO LAUGH MANIACALLY

… my stupid brain came out the winner.

Leave a Reply

