Friday Night Lights

If you know anything about me, you know there are some things I’m somewhat good at, and some things I’m hysterically oblivious about. Sports would fall into the latter category. Yet, as luck would have it, I happen to teach at a school that loves its sports. Particularly, football.

So, I try my best to understand why we’re getting excited about boys mercilessly tackling each other over a tiny, odd-shaped ball, but–ultimately–I end up watching the band, cheerleaders, and Pom squad. (Don’t worry, I also clap when my side of the stadium claps.)

Anyway, tonight was our first home football game. And, even for me, it was a pretty great night. The weather was perfect, and the fans filled our 11,000-seat stadium. I saw so many faces I recognized, and it so warms my heart when my girls on the sidelines stop between dances or stunts to shine their wide smiles at me and gingerly wave a pom-pom.

I love being a part of something so much bigger than myself. And, more importantly, I love that my kids get to feel this, too. This thing that, no matter what goes on at home, they always have a family here, at school. We stick up for each other. We cheer each other on. We stand by one another.

I love ’em.

Oh, yeah, and we won. 😉 31-10.

Leave a Reply

