Lower School Math

After school we had a meeting from 3:30-5pm. Our school is undergoing an accreditation process (happens every decade) and that means we have a lot of committees who each are tasked with analyzing one aspect of the school and writing a mini-report on that aspect of the school. Each faculty member is on two committees — one in the fall and one in the spring.

This fall I’m on the Lower School Math committee. At our meeting, we had five different teachers present various lessons or videos of their teaching, along with talking very positively about the curriculum we are adopting. (It’s the first year of using this curriculum in the entire Lower School.) I took notes about what I heard:

LS

Clearly this gets me super excited. I knew nothing about what really went on with mathematics in the Lower School, so seeing this makes me think WOW!!! I even had a fleeting thought that maybe I’d like to observe a couple of these lessons live! Huzzah for really cool math going on at my school that I’m just learning about!

Leave a Reply

