Lunch Duty

I have lunch duty every other day. And my job is to stand at the end of a short hallway. Kids are allowed out of the cafeteria into this hall to use the bathroom and water fountain, my job is to make sure they don’t leave into the main hallway without permission. It was a quiet day, which is good, but I was bored. Then a student walked to my end of the hallway and asked how many minutes were left in lunch. And then asked permission to wait there for the last five minutes. We got to chat about random things like the Topsfield fair and current TV and video games. It was a nice break in the monotony for me and I think an appreciated opportunity for adult conversation for the student as well.

Leave a Reply

