Nice Offhand Mention

Today when running from making copies to getting back to my office, I came across our new head of the upper school (think high school principal). I hadn’t seen him much in the past few weeks. But he stopped me and asked me how I was, and then told me that he keeps hearing my name in really positive contexts. I don’t quite know what that means, but you know what? I’ll take it! I feel like this year is going so insanely (example: It’s 8:51pm and I’m still at school… this post is the last thing on my to-do list) and I still don’t have a way to make it slow down. So hearing that just made my day. I actually gave him a hug and told him this was my one good thing from today.

***

I also received an email from someone who works for NCTM’s Mathematics Teacher journal/magazine, asking me if I want to do some volunteer work for them. They said they had been following my blog for a while and thought I’d be a good fit. I don’t quite know what that work will be, and if I’ll have time for it, but heck if I didn’t just start glowing when I read it.

***

One of my best friends in NY, who also teaches math at my school, has been on maternity leave recently. And today she gave birth to her little girl! I loved getting the text with the picture!!! Talk about changing priorities!

***

I gave my Multivariable Calculus kids a conceptually challenging problem, and I enjoyed watching them try to reason through it, and take some wrong turns. I felt pretty good about how I stayed out of their way, and intervened only at times that seemed appropriate. And I never gave too much away.

***

I met with a student who I’m helping with his college essay. And I felt pretty awesome that the feedback I gave him was pretty much on par with the feedback the college counselor gave him. It means I kind of know what I’m talking about. Huzzah!

Leave a Reply

