Day off of School? Not When You Can Visit Another

The past two years our school’s three day fall weekend has turned into a four day fall weekend with our administration encouraging us to take the first day as a professional development day. Last year and today I chose to go visit schools. Why take a day off school when you can still go to school? I find it to be so much fun to go and talk to other teachers, to see other students, and to get a flavor for how other schools take care of business. I always come back charged both by ideas of how to change and improve as well as by a sense of pride in our kids and our culture. The only downside was waking up at 4:30 for a two hour drive this morning. All in all, it was a terrific day of outreach and I feel like I made a couple of valuable connections. Seeing an old friend certainly didn’t hurt.

Do your schools encourage you to go visit? Does geography work for that?

One thought on “Day off of School? Not When You Can Visit Another

  1. I have only gone once to visit another school. I loved it! Recently a friend and her colleague came to visit my room. It was great. She wanted to see mathalicious in action 🙂 it was nice to receive feedback and know that I’m not quite as crazy as I think I am!

Leave a Reply

