Originals

We played a round of TRIG BRAIN POWER today in PreCalc.  This is a Peterson original where teams get to move their colored brains around the unit circle as they answer questions correctly.  One of today’s questions was to find the three cube roots of -64i and plot them on the complex plane.  One of my (very advanced) groups started snickering.

“What’s so funny, guys?”

“IT’S THE SAME AS THE THREE BRAINS ON THE GAMEBOARD!”  Cue hysteric laughter.

trig brain power

Yes.  I was ridiculously proud.

*****

I gave my calc students a Pre-Test on relating f, f’, and f” today.  It wasn’t for a grade or anything; just wanted to know where they were and be able to track their growth.

After the Pre-Test, I gave them a diagram that I created last year to help answer these kinds of questions.  My fifth hour, in particular, was incredibly impressed by this little diagram.  When I told them I created it and hope to be famous for it someday, they exploded.  “Are you kidding me, Mrs. P?!  You’re a genius!”

I know, I know…feel free to keep telling me that…

2 thoughts on “Originals

Leave a Reply

