Positive Feedback

A consultant working with our schools did observations and conversations with the algebra 1 teachers today. My kids were kinda quiet, because, stranger, but he was really thoughtful in his feedback. First he told me his impression of several students (by name! impressive!) including insights on what they were doing while I was stuck at the board (they were listening, writing and thinking). Then he shared some teacher moves that he noticed. I enjoy discussing my teaching with observers since so often my reactions are obvious to me but someone else recognizes them as important choices (instead of yelling at the kid for copying the work he missed the previous day I asked him to do the problems himself because I wanted him to learn). It was nice to take some time to step back and relive the good moments.

Leave a Reply

