The Magic of Snowflakes

We made snowflakes out of coffee filters today in Intermediate Algebra. Sure, we tied some math to it, but mostly I wanted to give these kids a chance to do something that I did probably every single winter growing up. More and more I realize what a privileged childhood I had. And I want to give some of those childhood experiences to my students, because they might not get them anywhere else.

Plus, I wanted snowflakes all over my classroom.

When we first started, I think the kids were a little confused. But I turned on some holiday music, gave them some snowflake-making tips, and off they went. Soon enough, I kept hearing, “Mrs. Peterson! Look at this one! Do you like this pattern?!” It was Christmastime bliss.

Towards the end of class, a boy raised his hand. “Mrs. Peterson, can I tell J something?”

Not knowing where he was going with this, I said, “As long as it’s nice.”

He turned to J and said: “That snowflake’s the s***.”

I know I wasn’t supposed to laugh at that, but I couldn’t hold it in. J was very pleased by this, too.

*****

One of my calc girls heard that we were making snowflakes in 6th hour and offered to come after school to hang them up. Obviously, I took her up on that. The room looks absolutely festive now and I can’t wait to see the look on my kids’ faces when they come back to school on Monday.

Before calc girl left, she gave me this kind note:

IMG_1053.JPG

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! Wishing you a beautiful holiday season.

Leave a Reply

