COOKIES and CAKE!

A student brought me cookies and a thoughtful card for writing his college recommendation. So lovely.

***

I had a relaxed and enjoyable day with my multivariable calculus class. At one point, I was playing music and kids asked me to put on a particular song I hadn’t heard of. It turned out to be a rap that a student in the class made in 10th grade for an English project. I did, and it was fantastic.

***

I’m a little sad because some of my former students stopped by today, but I teach three classes in a row and didn’t get to see any of them for more than 2 minutes. Le sigh! I wanted to catch up with them individually and hear how things are really going. I tried to convince them to come to school tomorrow (it’s a half-day and we just sit around with kids chillaxing, and then there is something like a talent show) — but I don’t think I was successful. I’m going to hold out hope.

***

I’m writing this later, but they came back after school to catch me up on things! We sat in the math office in a circle and they talked to me!

***

One of my math teacher friends/colleagues had her birthday today. We secretly brought a cake and after school we all sang to her! I am never good at organizing that sort of stuff, but I love that we do that sort of stuff. Me, basically showing up, eating cake.

***

I met with my student doing her independent study. We had fun thinking about the AM-GM inequality. I brought up the ideas that Polya brings up in his book (The Art of Problem Solving) about what you should do when you solve a problem. We did. We asked questions. We generalized it. We saw how far we could extend it. It was good times.

Leave a Reply

