In which I remember what’s important…

As one of my kids was packing up to leave today, he said, “I really like this class, Mrs. Peterson.”

I said I really liked having him in class; he told me that made his day.

As he talked about how much he loves math and science, his enthusiasm was contagious.  He reminded me–through his actions–how important it is to show a love for what you teach.  It’s easy to get bogged down by paper work, grades, contacting parents, disciplining students, etc. etc.  But, in the end, we’re all drawn to passion in people.  It doesn’t really matter if we’re passionate about the same things they are…passion is exhilarating no matter the subject.

I don’t think it’s any coincidence that I stumbled upon a letter from a past student today.  She wrote: “Your passion for mathematics inspires me, and the time I spent in your class definitely strengthened my desire to go into a STEM field.”

She didn’t write about  my organization or my carefully laid-out lessons or my ridiculous games.  She thanked me for my passion.

Both these kids reminded me today of what’s really important…consistent passion is something worth fighting for…

Leave a Reply

