Round Two with Antiderivatives

I gave my calc kids a pop quiz last Friday.  Yes, it was meant to scare them a bit into trying a little harder; but, ultimately, I wanted to gain some feedback on their knowledge.  It was…not pretty.

It was clear to me that I needed to do some re-teaching.  So, I did.  You know how one example sometimes sheds great illumination?  I think I discovered a really wonderful example today:

antiderivatives

One kid came to me after school to tell me that after today’s re-teaching, things are making much more sense (hooray!).  Then she said, “Remember that one example you did?  The integral of 1/w dw?”

[At which point I thought, “Of course I remember, I only thought about this all weekend…” but I played it cool…]

“Oh yeah…what about it?”

“When we did that example, it just clicked!  I was like, “Ohhh!  This makes so much sense now!”

🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Amazing what one little additional line can do…

Leave a Reply

