Growth Mindset

Today we had advising conferences, where we met with our advisees and went over their second quarter and semester grades with them. One of my advisees was a little despondent about their performance, and said they had come to terms with the fact that they historically hadn’t gotten good grades in subject X, so they just have resigned themselves to being bad in it.

I empathized, and then broke out the Carol Dweck idea of the growth mindset versus the fixed mindset — and we together looked at a graphic on my computer while I talked through that approach. They seemed just-a-little-bit-inspired by what I was laying out, and they wanted to take a picture of graphic I was talking through. I loved that. I ended up sending this student a TED talk about this also!

Leave a Reply

