A guest speaker and two former students.

The author of The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace came to give a 50 minute talk to the Upper School students today. I’m about halfway through the book, and I’m engrossed. The author gave a riveting talk, and conversations reverberated in the halls of the schools afterwards about some things he brought up (even in my multivariable calculus class!). During lunch, he also met with kids, and pizza was had, and I got to go for half the time. The kids who showed up were interested in asking him questions, and he also was interested in asking them questions. Lovely. (He also inscribed my book!)

After school, at around 6:30pm, a former student who graduated maybe 5 or 6 years ago came back, and we talked for 90 minutes. And then right when I got back to work, another former student who graduated only last year came by to say hi. And we chatted for around 60 minutes. So needless to say, I left school at 9:45pm, exhausted. But since there are only two more school days until spring break, I can handle it.

Leave a Reply

