A Challenge Problem

This morning I figured that my Geometry class would have some time to spare in our conversation about the hinge theorem. So, I prowled a bit and found an interesting looking problem on the nrich.maths.org site (you can find it here http://nrich.maths.org/289)

Turns out that this problem is much more challenging than I thought it might be and we spent thirty minutes together untangling it. My students hung in there, they asked great questions, they tossed out ideas and debated each other. It was pretty awesome, but the best part was that one student said ‘I really like the fact that you did not do this problem first, that you are learning with us.’

It’ll be hard to be in a bad mood at all today after this start.

Leave a Reply

