Calculus love 

I was telling one of my Calc girls today what an amazing job she’s done this semester. She said, “I don’t know what happened, but things just really started clicking for me this semester. I am going to KILL this AP Exam!”

I told her that, in my opinion, one of the best things about AP Calculus is that, by the end, students typically figure out what they need to do to be successful in a college-level course. 

She said what she loves about it is that she can see the fruit of her labor: that when she works hard, she truly is successful. It was so awesome. I’ve gotten to see her confidence is mathematics absolutely blossom over the last two years. 

*****

Another one of my Calc girls started telling me a story. She said, “I was talking to my family about calculus…because, you know, I talk about this class a lot…”

(That right there is enough to be my “one good thing,” but I’ll continue…)

She said her older sister told her to give her a calculus problem. 

Well, the sister never had Calc, so it was somewhat of a disaster. But then, her family got into it and before she knew it, she was giving them an algebra refresher course and an intro to calculus. I’M SORRY WHAT?? MY KIDS ARE TEACHING THEIR FAMILIES ON THEIR OWN TIME?

The best. Ever. 

Leave a Reply

