Filling my mind with the beautiful…

Today was kind of rough.  Lunch was hard.  I heard conversations about (1) how people “accidentally” got pregnant and (2) how terrible marriage is.  I simply left.  My heart couldn’t take it.

But, when I got back, a student had left a letter for me on my desk…

Bits and pieces:

This quote comes from Sheldon [from the Big Bang Theory] who says, “Comforting is a part of leadership.”  You are…a character example and in a big leadership position, and I just wanted to say that you are a very comforting leader…  When you come around and pat us on the back and ask us if we have any questions, it is the most comforting, gentle thing.  Honestly, the first time you did that it made me think what a great mom you would be.  In addition, I always feel safe and comfortable in your class because of your warm, genuine, actions.  So thank you…

How do they know exactly what I need to hear?  How did I get so lucky to share my life with such loving young adults…? What did I do to deserve this kind of loving affirmation?  I have no answers, but I do know that I will cherish these words for a long time and hold on to them dearly.

Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse.

-The Apostle Paul in his letter to the Philippians

Leave a Reply

