Smiles

We graphed linear inequalities today in Intermediate Algebra.  I thought it was going to be atrocious.  I mean, last semester we could only graph a line on a good day, and I had to tell myself, Leave it for now.  You can come back to it later.

Instead, the kids finished with lightning speed and amazing accuracy today.  My favorite moment of the hour was when one girl–who typically really struggles–had a perfect paper.  I gave her that look of, “Well, well, well…!” And she smiled the brightest smile I’ve ever seen her smile.  I wished I could have frozen time just then…smiles like that define this profession and make me think, How could anyone want any other job in the world?

Leave a Reply

