Good questioning

So I had final exam review days in three of my classes today. I let them work, and I walk around and answer questions, and sometimes pose questions of my own. What I really loved about these particular classes was that my kids were asking super good questions. And almost every question I was asked wasn’t “how do you do…?” but was “why does X work?” The switch from “how” to “why” is so crucial, and at the heart of what I’m trying to do in these classes with these kids. So the fact that at the end of the year, that is what they’re focusing on when they’re studying… That made me happy.

Leave a Reply

