A Cast-Riddled Kindness

Today involved many good things, including watching my house lose with grace, good test grades, and a burst of good music to get me through a long round of grading. (Check out Two Steps From Hell if you need a pick-me-up.)

But this stood out.

The football team’s home opener is tonight, and we’ll be going. I love watching my kids play, but I can’t always figure out who’s who when they’re wearing helmets. One of the football players – one that I don’t know quite as well – finished his test early, so I asked him if he’d be willing to make me a list of the entire football team and their numbers. (We’re a small school, so that’s not quite as daunting as it sounds.) I told him he didn’t have to, but he said, “No, no, I want to!”

He didn’t quite finish before the bell, so he asked if he could keep working on it in English and bring it to me at lunch. I was grateful for his thoughtfulness, for his eagerness to do this one small thing that helps me enjoy the football games more.

What makes it even kinder is that his dominant hand is in a cast, so he did all this writing with his off hand, willingly and eagerly.

So thoughtful!

Leave a Reply

