Mathematical Musings from my Students

As our Calculus BC class was ending today one of my students told me about a conversation that he has yesterday. He said, “In AP Euro yesterday Marshall said, ‘You know, right now there is some high school kid in America who is going to become President someday.'” He told me that he questioned his friend’s assertion and the question expanded to whether or not there is some kid in grade K – 12 who will one day become President. I challenged the high school assertion and pointed out that recently there had been a pretty big age jump from George H.W. Bush to Bill Clinton. I just LOVE that this kind of thought popped into someone’s head and that it prompted some mathematical musing. It also gives me a data set idea to play with for my Discrete Math class. Conversations like this one make me really happy to be doing what I do for a living.

Leave a Reply

