Not Alone

Today was exhausting.  But, I think, productive.  My calc kids quizzed, so I spent those hours behind my computer grading notebook after notebook, which I absolutely hate, but it’s a necessary evil.  Or, at least I tell myself it is.

There were some good moments, though…

When I asked my calc students to write down their One Good Thing for the last twenty-four hours, one kid asked another kid what his good thing was.  The second student said he didn’t know yet.  The first one said he could give him a hug.  They were just teenage boys being teenage boys.  You’d think I’d be used to their sense of humor by now, but they still make me giggle.

Another kid asked me what my One Good Thing was…I love it when they ask me this and hold me to the standard I want to be held to.

****

At the end of the day, I was feeling tired and just…annoyed, I guess?…with some of the behaviors in my last hour.  I went to look at my emails, and it felt like there were dozens I needed to get through.  How could this happen in just one hour??  Then, I found this treasure of an email from a past student’s mom:

How are you feeling?  I am so excited for you!!  You are going to be such an amazing momma!  There’s no greater blessing!  M has initiation on the day of your shower, but we’re going to try and get there late if that’s okay.  She misses you so!

Oh, it was exactly what I needed.  This community we have here…there’s nothing quite like it.  I take care of a lot of kids every year.  But I also make connections with families who end up taking care of me.

It’s so good to know that we are not alone.

Leave a Reply

