Early Morning Email

Today four of my five classes are taking quizzes. Not the makings of a positive day. At 6:13 AM I received an email from one of my students and the subject line was ‘Today’s Quiz’ Maybe I am a bit cynical after 28+ years in this business, but I did not anticipate a happy message. I figured the student was either sick or had had some catastrophe the night before that would prevent him from taking the quiz. Instead, the message was

Good morning,

      I was wondering if there was any way I could take the quiz second bell today instead of 3rd because there is a college rep visit 3rd bell that I would really like to attend.
This brought such a smile to my face. What a great email to receive this early in the morning.
PS – My answer was an enthusiastic ‘Yes, of course you can take the quiz early. Drop by to ask any questions you have before your quiz.’
Leave a Reply

