Ketchup

Today I worked in class helping a student catch up after missing a week of school. Their effort was probably 3x the amount I’ve ever seen from them- makes it a lot easier to spend the time when effort is involved.

Another student that missed a week of school (the same week) stayed after school for extra help. They brought a friend who also need help and we had a great hour of reteaching and making up grades.

I had a great lesson of being less helpful and helping students work through their feeling of uncertainty. At the end of the activity, students felt a sense of satisfaction, even though they got some wrong answers. I know that this will stick with them more than me just telling them some facts, but they probably don’t realize that at this point.

Last night was parent teacher conferences. I had one parent that I wanted to see and we had a productive conversation. Today I noticed a big difference in their child- focused, working hard, asking questions (more than once!), and not distracting others. Hope this is a trend that continues.

Leave a Reply

