Related Rates Related to You, 2015

Calculus worked on more related rates problems today (see problems and activity on my blog).  Each problem had one or two students from that period as the main character of the story.  As I passed out the worksheet, kids started reading it and noticing their names.  “I made it into the problem?!”  They were more excited about this than I thought they’d be.

I put the kids in groups and assigned each group a problem that they were to work and then display the solution on poster paper.  Each group contained the hero/heroine of the story problem they were working on.  One student said, “I really like how you put us in the group that matched the question.”

Sometimes you wonder if students catch on to all the little details you put into a lesson…I love it when they take the time to tell me that they notice and appreciate my efforts…even if my stories are completely cheesy.

Leave a Reply

