A letter

I found this letter today…

  
I have no idea who it’s from…but it spoke to my heart and soul. 

Just before I read this note, I had written a quote from Maya Angelou on the whiteboard for next week: “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

To this student, you made me feel so loved and appreciated. And I will not soon forget. As I’ve said before, we adults have so much to learn from the way you students lavish praise. 

I hope that I can pass forward this kindness and make others feel the way you made me feel: cherished and respected and valued. 

2 thoughts on “A letter

  1. I came across your “Baby Peterson” post and could not help myself from continuing to read previous ones. When I came across this one, I instantly felt as if the words were coming from my heart to that there note! Your student did an astonishing job at putting into words what a phenomenal and inspiring teacher you are!! I hope it goes without saying, but you are an impactful teacher and have done a tremendous amount of good for students. As well as made an impact on their lives in so many great ways! Of course you did mine, that’s why I took your classes for two years! I am reminded of you often here at Kansas State, and even fear taking any math classes or ones including it because you won’t be teaching it! I constantly think about the completely wonderful person you are and it inspires me on many things I do! I’m not a writer, and I can not put into words like your student did about how we need more people in the world like you, I’m a math and science kind of person English isn’t my thing! Haha but I just hope you know you’re amazing inside and out and deserve notes like this one each and every day! I hope all is well and continues to be as you approach the day you welcome your new blessing into this world! He/she is going to do extraordinary things, because of you! Have a wonderful thanksgiving, maybe your husbands belly will match after all of the turkey! đŸ™‚

    – Lanie Bailey

    • Sweet Lanie!

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m forever thankful for students like you who remind me how much I love what I do…

      Hope you’re enjoying K-State and making great friends and memories!

      All my love to you!

Leave a Reply

