Seeing the Best

Today the kid that was suspended last semester said, “I hope whoever takes your place when you’re gone is as nice as you are.”  It feels very good to be able to say, “She’s absolutely wonderful.  You will love her.”  It’s such a relief to know my kids will be in the best of hands when I’m gone on maternity leave.

That aside, I really think that was the first time this kid has complimented me/said anything nice about me (not that he was mean…just not super industrious).  Maybe he’s playing me…I don’t know.  But I’m going to choose to believe the best for now.  I think that’s what we have to do as teachers:  see kids for who they can be and for their potential.

Leave a Reply

