Rec Letters

I wrote several recommendation letters over winter break, in the hopes of wrapping them all up before my maternity leave (I know…so silly).  Once I finished, I jokingly told my husband, “I give it two days before I get another request.”

That was optimistic.  I had another request within twenty-fours…my victory felt so short-lived.

By the end of last week (one week after break was over), I had four more requests, and I knew I needed to finish them over the weekend, lest I go into labor and totally forget about these poor students’ college and scholarship applications!  So, that happened this weekend, and I once again feel victorious.

[Sidebar:  It’s not that I don’t like writing these; it’s that I feel so much pressure to write just the right thing…these are kids’ futures we’re talking about.]

Anyway, I got this sweet email from a student today, who is gone this week for interviews:

Just wanted to thank you again for the rec letters you’ve written me this year and let you know that the interviews this last Saturday went great! I’ll find out the results on February 1 so I’ll let you know how I did when I find out. If I’m not back before you go on leave, I hope you and the baby are in good health and I’ll be praying for a safe delivery for you. 

When you teach 140 kids every year, most of whom are advanced in mathematics, you get a lot of requests to write these letters.  I get that.  It’s what I signed up for.  It’s so nice, though, to hear that maybe these letters are making a difference.  That people actually do read them.  And that they are helping my students get to where they want to be.

Leave a Reply

