To great colleagues

It’s been a bleak start to the month. You know those days where you just feel like an inadequate teacher and that maybe you’re not doing such a great job? I’ve had more of those than normal lately, which surprises me since I was hoping now that I’ve reached my fifth year that those feelings would be gone. The more difficult thing is that there was no event that happened that triggered this feeling (no vicious parent interaction, students complaining, etc), although I think as the end of the first semester nears, I’m starting to evaluate the past few months and trying to make changes for the second semester…which is why I’m seeing the areas that I need to improve on all at once.

I voiced this blah feeling to a colleague in passing, to which he responded by literally cheering for me and saying that of course things will look up! I just had to laugh because he was so enthusiastic, waving his arms around and high-fiving me. It felt good to have some encouragement from another teacher. Also, he pointed out that I have a “One good thing” board in the back of my room where students can post a good thing before/after class on a Post-it. He suggested that I should post here for myself; I occasionally post my “one good thing” on the class board along with my students, but I think I will be taking advantage of this blog more often from here on out 🙂 Is it possible for my one good thing to be that I wrote my first post on the one good thing blog? I think SO! Here’s to a more positive half of the week!

4 thoughts on “To great colleagues

  1. Welcome!

    “You know those days where you just feel like an inadequate teacher and that maybe you’re not doing such a great job? I’ve had more of those than normal lately, which surprises me since I was hoping now that I’ve reached my fifth year that those feelings would be gone.”

    HECK YEAH. I am TOTALLY in that mode. Let’s commiserate together, please.

Leave a Reply

