On Grief

We had a four day weekend for MLK day, and I didn’t see my students again until yesterday. My largest, rowdiest class was working on something, and I was walking around the room. As I passed a student, she looked up and caught my eye. “Hey – how was your weekend?” I asked.

“Not very good.”

“Oh, no! What happened?” I asked, then immediately realized what it had to be.

“I had to go to my friend’s funeral this weekend.”

We talked for a minute or two about how funerals are hard, and grief is hard, and there really aren’t any words that make it better. I was proud of her for going and for her compassion for her friend’s family.

Leave a Reply

