Showing up 

Before classes even started today, I received an email from the mother of a former student…just to say she was thinking about me and the baby and praying for a safe and easy delivery. 

The families are what make this community we call Union. We try our best to have each others’ backs, to carry one another, to encourage each other. No, we’re not perfect. But we know how to show up. And that counts for a lot in my book. 

*****

I dropped a marker again today in the middle of a lecture. Before I even had a chance to decide if it was worth bending to try to retrieve it, a kid was already by my side, offering me the marker. “You make that look so easy,” I laughed, as I thanked him for his kindness. 

Like I said: we know how to show up. 

Leave a Reply

