Growth

My Algebra II class was so boring today.

That’s not the good thing.

I knew from the beginning that I probably had too many problems in our notes. I thought it wouldn’t be too bad. It was.

The good thing was that by the end of class I already had an idea for how to fix it next time: cut the amount of problems in half and give students practice problems that match the problems in their notes so they could do them on their own.

So when class ended, I made a note of it and went along with my life. I didn’t cry or feel like a bad teacher. I didn’t rant in a blog post or complain on Twitter. I identified the problem and suggested a solution.

I recognized that I’m in a place where I can focus on solving problems through reflection instead of creating more problems by complaining.

Growth.

Leave a Reply

