Balance 

I hate to over-commit. You know those people who say, “I just have such a hard time saying, ‘no'”? Well, I’m the opposite of that. No is practically my middle name. So, when I found out I was pregnant, I was overjoyed. I will never forget that day for as long as I live. My kid is a miracle baby, a child I was told I’d probably never have. 

However, I started to wonder if I could really have it all. Could I really be a good teacher and mom at the same time? Furthermore, if I chose not to stay at home, would that make me ungrateful for my baby? Sure, I could be both a mom and a teacher. But could I do both really well?

I’ve only been trying to juggle both for a week now, but I’ve come to the conclusion: yes, I can do both really well. It’s true–both jobs will have to compromise a bit; but I think, ultimately, both roles will benefit from each other. I believe that being a mom will help me become a better teacher. And being a teacher will help me be a more relaxed and present mom because I still get to do what I love. 

Mind you, I’m not saying this is what every woman should do. I’m saying this is the right decision for me. (I also realize that I lead a very privileged life to even get to have the choice.)

My one good thing is that I’ve left school at 3:30 every day for a week straight now. As much as I love what I do, I can’t wait to come home to Jonas snuggles and smiles. 

I’m learning to balance, to set new timelines, and to have grace for myself. 

  

Leave a Reply

