Signing Day

I came home late tonight because one of my kids asked me to be at a Signing Day for engineers. I carpooled with another teacher to the other side of town. Five young ladies from our school committed to pursuing an engineering degree today and I could not be happier. I know they will use their degrees to better the world. 

When my student went up to sign and to get her picture taken with her family, her parents insisted that we two teachers come up for the photo. 

“What? Are you sure?” I asked. 

“Yes.”

Bewildered, we looked at each other, and made our way up beside our glowing student. 

During the reception, her mom thanked us both for writing rec letters for a scholarship. They found out today that she got it…$24,000 worth. 

Some days you get so caught up in the little things that you lose sight of the big picture. Today I got to reflect on one of the reasons I’m so passionate about math education: it can open doors for my kids that otherwise wouldn’t be there. 

I’m proud to be a math teacher. I’m proud to be preparing a future generation of thinkers and problem solvers. And I’m proud to be asked to celebrate my kids’ victories. 

Leave a Reply

