Exam Day

My sweet baby slept past the alarm this morning, but I was awake at 5:00 regardless. I couldn’t sleep. I was too nervous for my kids’ AP Calculus Exam. 

I think I put on a good face for my students, but inside I’m always a wreck on exam day. However, they seemed fairly happy when they came out of their testing room, considering they had just taken a 3.5-hour calculus test. I have high hopes for this group. 

My school is excellent about celebrating our victories, whether that be on the field, on the stage, or in the classroom. I love the community that this celabratory spirit produces. 

For me and my calculus babies, this is our national championship. Many of us have been working together for the past two years, knowing clearly the prize we were aiming for. So, I love to celebrate this day–this accomplishment–with them. The other calc teachers and myself prepared goodie bags for our students as they entered their testing room; we brought them snacks during break; and we were ready for hugs and high fives when they emerged. 

I’m so proud of these kids. I’m proud of the work they put into math class this year. I’m proud of the stamina they mustered to make it through today. I’m proud that they did their best–they left it all on the pages of those testing booklets. 

I hate not being able to be in the testing room with them. But I’m confident that these kids have mastered the material, and I know they performed their hearts out. 

In two months, we’ll get the results.

Tonight, we sleep. 

Well done, my calculetes. Love you always. 

Brett found this on Twitter ❤


Hooray! We made it!

2 thoughts on “Exam Day

  1. You are amazing! Thank you so much for EVERYTHING you have done for Shea. You are very special to us.
    Dru McClellan

Leave a Reply

