Snap, crackle, pop

Today was our first day looking at how intricately calculus and physics are tied together. I find it just beautiful and fascinating that slopes tell us so much about our world. 

My kids learned today that the derivative of position is velocity, whose derivative is acceleration. That’s stuff they can find in their textbook. 

But. What their textbook won’t tell them is that the derivative of acceleration is jerk, whose derivative is snap, whose derivative is crackle, whose derivative is–yup!–POP!

“Wait. Are you making this up, Mrs. Peterson?”

Every single class asked me that question. “No, and if you win Who Wants to be a Millionaire because you know the name of the sixth derivative of position, I want a cut of your profits. Also, Brett got you all Rice Krispies treats.”

Well. That was that. I don’t think they heard a single other word I said the rest of the day because…FOOD. 😜😘

*****

One of my students opened a calc book today, and I heard her gasp, “Oh my gosh! There’s a note in here! This just made my day.”

I knew exactly what she was referring to. Two years ago, as a final calculus project, I had my kids complete a complexly non-calculus assignment. It was called “Serve + Create,” and they were to do just that: serve someone(s) and create something(s). One of my students chose to write kind notes and leave them in calculus books, for future students to read on random days. 

It’s pretty amazing to see how students can have an impact even after they leave our classrooms… ❤️

Leave a Reply

