The Last Brownie

I have a student in two different classes whom I have to redirect multiple times. In the morning class, we had a two hour class today and they were working on a project. I fully expected him to lose focus and get distracting, and I was ready to send him out after one warning. (I’ve never sent a student to the office.) Instead, he focused and worked hard and kept his voice down. In the afternoon class, dispersing students so that they sit alone improved things.

*******************

I handed back tests in several classes today. Lots of students were shocked by their grades – way higher than they expected.  It was nice to point out to them that they know more than they think they do.

One student took the test late, and I graded hers after school today. She and a group of her friends hang out right outside my classroom after school; when I was done grading, I called her in and gave her her test. She said, “Ok, honestly, I don’t know how to do the last problem at all.”

“Ok, well, let’s talk about it,” I told her. We took three minutes and walked through how to solve it (we were modeling data with a trig equation, so it wasn’t that hard – just had to put the pieces together for her).

“Oh, ok! I get it now! Thanks!” she told me, then walked outside. 30 seconds later I heard her tell her friends, “Ok, she explained it to me, and now it makes so much sense!” That’s three minutes well spent.

*********************

We had quiz bowl practice today for the first time in several weeks, and the kids who are normally quiet were willing to hit the buzzer and try.

*********************

My Calc II student looked over her test when I handed it back. “Oh, yeah, this one!” she said. “This one was fun!” There’s nothing so nice as hearing a student say a test problem was fun.

*********************

Today was a rough day. (Thus, lots of good things – need to make myself find the good.) At the end of it, I found myself saying, “I need a nap. Or a cookie.” What I really wanted to do was call my mom, but she’s on vacation in a national park and doesn’t have cell phone reception. And there are no cookies in the house.

A couple of weeks ago, though, we made brownies. The last brownie has been hanging out in the fridge, waiting for a time when I really wanted it. I didn’t have a cookie when I got home, but I did get a brownie and milk, which is just as good.

 

Leave a Reply

