Good work

I met with a parent tonight during conferences who took the initiative herself to come talk today. She recently sacrificed a lot to move back to Oklahoma to help her daughter, who had dropped out of school in another state. 

When I showed the mom that her daughter had a B in my class and when I said I truly love having this young lady in class, I saw tears well in her eyes. 

“Her science teacher just told me the same thing. And you two are the only teachers to have ever told me that.”

(I swear I’m not making this up.)

“Well. This is an amazing high school. We don’t let kids fall through the cracks here. That just doesn’t happen.”

We serve a very diverse population at my school. We serve kids that live in mansions and kids that live in their car. We serve kids with an Oklahoma drawl and we serve kids who don’t speak English (nearly a hundred languages are represented in our district). We serve white kids, black kids, Latino kids, Hmong kids. We serve kids who take Differnetial Equations their senior year and kids who take Intermediate Algebra their senior year. We serve kids who want to be in school and are motivated to learn and we serve kids who–oftentimes for a valid reason–have given up on school. 

It doesn’t matter who you are or where you come from or where you want to go: if you’re a Union Redskin, you will have teachers, counselors, and principals who will not give up on you. 

And being able to tell a parent that–that her kid was safe with us–was a very good thing tonight. 

Her relief and gratitude was palpable. 

We do good work here. It’s hard work. But it’s good work. 

Leave a Reply

