Handout Passer Outer

Today some students helped start our door decorating adventure. We’re decorating the classroom door with facts about my Alma Mater in the hopes of earning a pizza party the Tuesday before Thanksgiving break. One girl stayed after school to work on it. I started asking her about her hopes for the future. Within moments I realized how little I knew about this young lady’s tragic background but her resilience to fight back. (How many times until you get the hint, Rebecka?? Learn their stories.)

I obviously can’t go into details, but I can say this student’s life has been horrendous. The people who were supposed to love and protect her fiercely failed on so many levels. She is so brave and beautiful for standing up for herself. 

This was not the first day this week that ended on a somber note. Just yesterday I found out about another student who has a less than ideal home life. I couldn’t blog yesterday because I couldn’t stop thinking about it. 

These are AP kids. The kids most people think have it all together. 

I don’t know what the answer is for these two students. But I do know that they need people to know their stories and to care about what they’re going through. 

I don’t know of any person I haven’t soften up to after hearing her story. As Mother Teresa said, “If we have no peace, it’s because we’ve forgotten that we belong to each other.”

*****

One of my students stays in my room during lunch. He usually has some friends join him. Sometimes they work on math, sometimes not. But he always makes sure to take out a calculus book for each pair of desks to share for the next hour. (And then proceeds to put them away after the bell if his classmates forget. Are you crying? No? Ok me either…ahem.)

Today I had directions on the board: Calculus–pick up the four handouts on the counter. 

Yes, he had placed each of the four handouts on every single desk. 

*****

I don’t know how to help all my kids. I don’t. But I’m pretty sure that a guy who places handouts on every desk is going to grow up to be someone who takes care of his family. 

These kids are resilient, yes. But a person can only take so much. 

We need to expose the hurt ones to the handout-passer-outers. And the rest of them we need to make into handout-passer-outers. 

One thought on “Handout Passer Outer

  1. Pingback: Global Math Department is Thankful for YOU / Global Math Department

Leave a Reply

