FTC

A couple girls stayed after calculus today to let me know that they wanted to help with lunch the day of the mock exam.  (Brett grills hotdogs for everyone in our backyard after the test. Yes, I married a saint.) They offered to set up, clean up, come the night before–whatever we needed help with. 

Like I’ve said: this group is just particularly kind and giving. It’s clear their mommas and their papas have instilled in them the value of generosity. For this, I am truly grateful, not just on a personal level…but also for what it means for our future community. 

*****

Today we covered my favorite lesson in calculus: The Fundamental Theorem of Calculus! It will always be both beautiful and mysterious to me how rates of change are inextricably tied to areas. Like…what? Incredible. 

I told the kids that the formal proof of the theorem is a bit beyond the scope of the course (but hopefully my examples were enough to convince them that it does indeed work). Then I showed them my stack of notecards I had made to study for one of my comprehensive exams for my masters degree. “In this deck are about two hundred theorems with their proofs, each of which I had memorized. Please keep this in mind when I ask you to memorize four AP Sets for a test.”

*nervous chuckle from the audience*

At this point, most classes were brave enough to ask a question about graduate school or comps or something of that nature. I love getting to share a little bit of what seems like a previous life at this point.

I’m good at relationships on a small scale. I’m really not good at relationships on a large scale. What I mean by that is that I’m not the teacher who typically shares funny stories or interesting anecdotes to the class as a whole. I think that it’s important to do that, but it doesn’t come naturally to me. So, when I get to talk a little bit about who I am (or maybe who I was), I feel like I’m moving in the right direction in my growth as a teacher. 

We talked about my journey through grad school today and how I became a teacher. And how I stumbled into one of the best things that’s ever happened to me: teaching high school. 

And then we got back to talking about antiderivatives. Because math is ❤. 

Leave a Reply

