Love wins

Review days in calc mean taking a couple minutes to write to “one good thing.” When I asked my students to turn to their One Good Thing page in their notebooks today, one of my students said, “I do this with my family every night now.”

“I’m sorry–what did you say?” I wanted to make sure I didn’t just make up what she had said. 

“Yeah, at dinner, we go around and say something good that’s happened that day. I just love the quote you have above the whiteboard. [‘Every day may not be good, but there’s one good thing in every day.’]”

“Oh my word, that’s exactly what I want to do with Jonas in a year or so!”

“My mom says it’s really helped her–to focus on the good.”

{Excuse me while I go sob quietly in the corner.}

This family has multiple reasons to be sad or angry or both. Tragedy has struck more than once. But instead, they go around the table and claim the good?

These students and their families are the real heroes. I’m very lucky to be a part of this community in which so many members work tirelessly to understand what it means for Love to win. 

Leave a Reply

