Pink slips 

After my calc kids finished their quiz today, I asked them to tell me something I didn’t already know about them that they wanted me to know. I provided little pink slips for them on which to write. I did this once last semester, al la Shelli Temple, and thought it was a great (and easy!) way to get to know more about my kids. 

I loved reading through them all. Some were silly–like listing a favorite color or a word they don’t like. Some were matter-of-fact. Some were beautiful; a few heart-wrenching. 

I admit: I won’t remember what all 94 pink slips said.  But I will remember some. Some warrant a response this weekend. Others need a follow-through later. And some, like this one, just make me smile and remind me why I love introducing teenagers to calculus. 

Leave a Reply

