Messages 

My calc kids take six unit tests between August and spring break. Today they took their fifth exam. Test days are boring. I sit and grade the same four free response questions all day until I think my eyes are going to give out. 

These tests–for the most part–weren’t great. For the most part, they weren’t terrible either. Just mostly average, which I find disappointing, because I don’t think my kids are average. 

I decided to message all the students who earned over a 100%, as there were a few in each hour. It was so fun congratulating them “in person,” without having to say anything in front of a whole class. 

I love delivering good news. I’m thankful for technology that lets me do that basically any time of day. 

Some days we have to create our own good, I think. These short messages of applause were my good today. 

Leave a Reply

