Cup overflowing 

A student told me today that she was really happy. 

“Oh yeah? Why is that?” I asked. 

“My brother got out of prison today. I haven’t seen him since I was two years old.”

*****

As I tucked my little boy into bed and prayed over him tonight, I prayed that God would help me and his dad love him so faithfully that his only response would be to pour love on other people. 

Psalm 23 entered my mind and for the first time I wondered if this was what David meant by his “cup overflowing.”

“You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”

*****

All kids deserve that kind of love, don’t they? They deserve to feel so deeply loved that all they could do was mirror that love. That their cup would overflow with kindness. 

The thing is, sometimes I’m not going to love like I should love. 

The thing is, sometimes kids lose their brother for sixteen years. 

And so I’m fully convinced that it takes a village. 

I’m grateful for the village that pours love into Jonas’s cup. 

And I’m grateful to be a part of other kids’ villages. 

Sometimes our roles as educators are big; sometimes they’re small. Some kids are–quite frankly–easier to love than others. But I think the kids that are hard to love are often the kids that need their cups filled most. 

Leave a Reply

