When perfection keeps you haunted 

I dangerously perused Pinterest, Twitter, and Teachers Pay Teachers (seriously, people, put your stuff out for free like the rest of us do) during spring break. I found so much good material for calculus review that I started to wonder if I needed to revamp my entire review unit (even though I just revamped it two years ago…and it was a crap ton of work). 

I decided that I would at least keep my first four weeks the same, updating problems, but saving the format (two days of FRQ practice on a certain topic, two days of MC practice on a certain topic, quiz on Friday over both topics, which the kids help write). 

Still, I never think I’m doing enough. 

Perfectionism, man. 

I know it’s part of what makes me good at what I do, but it can also be a plague, especially when comparison plays a role. 

Today was an FRQ day. I gave the kids a past FRQ; they took it cold (as if it were an actual exam); and then I had them grade their own based on the scoring guideline. Once they felt confident with the rubric, they were shown student samples that they were asked to grade and then I revealed the national average for that problem. We then repeated the process with one more FRQ. 

My fifth hour impressed me the most. They asked such fabulous questions in terms of how points were distributed. It was so clear they were trying to really understand how to improve their scores. 

When we finished, they said, “Mrs. P, this was so helpful!”

I could have cried.

Just when you wonder if you’re doing enough–they always reassure you: you are enough. As is. 

“Why so scared that you’ll mess it up? When perfection keeps you haunted

All we need is your best my love, that’s all anyone ever wanted

Love is how we do, let no judgment overrule it
Love I look to you, and I sing”

-Sara Bareilles

Leave a Reply

