Sixth hour

Today was hard. Small things (like being late to a meeting due to a traffic light outage), medium things (like losing my plan for the fifth time this semester due to an uncovered teacher absence) and big things (like finding out one of my kids made a really bad choice and will no longer be able to attend school for a year) seemed to keep coming at me. 

By lunch, I just wanted to go home, go to sleep, and wake up to a new day. 

Alas. 

By some miracle of Heaven, my last class of the day–sixth hour Intermediate Algebra–was my best and and most peaceful class. They sat quietly and worked all hour. No one felt the need to wander around the room. No one got on anyone’s nerves. Everyone was just…calm. To top it off, one of my kids whom I hadn’t seen in weeks, finally returned and worked to begin to get caught up. 
It was exactly the kind of end to the day that I needed. I’m not sure I could have handled their usual…flair. I just didn’t have it in me. 

And, as it turns out, I didn’t have to today. 

God bless those souls. 

Leave a Reply

