Fighters 

We are so close to the end. Three more school days until the AP Exam. Then my kids graduate the next day. 

We are all tired and sick. We’re weary and stressed. But we’re fighters. My kids have proved that from the beginning. 

I think about how many of them have had lunch with me in my classroom instead of with their friends off campus the last three weeks, and I’m reminded–we’re fighters. I think about the kid who comes early in the mornings because he has one question–one–he wants to clarify, and I’m reminded–we’re fighters. I think about the girl who had an AP Test in the morning, soccer playoffs in the evening, and still managed to get her make up calculus work done from the day she missed because of testing, and I’m reminded–we’re fighters. I think about how some of these kids went from being frustrated with mathematics to becoming fluent in calculus, and I’m reminded–we’re fighters. 

And these kids don’t just fight, they fight together. They show up for each other. They help each other. They keep each other accountable. 

They’re my heros. 

And no matter how it plays out in three school days, I am so very honored to be a part of these kids’ lives and to witness how they’ve grown and how they’ve faught. 

Leave a Reply

