A beautiful day

Today was so lovely. My calc classes ranged from 1-12 people (graduation rehearsal), so I was able to get caught up on all the makeup work kids have turned in recently. It was heavenly. I should have taken a picture of the five empty trays. Lord knows they won’t be empty tomorrow!

I had two kids in fifth hour, and since I was caught up on grading, I asked if they would play a game with me. We played Qwirkle, and I won. Again, such a good day. 😉

It’s moments like these that remind me of the parts of private education that I loved as a child: small classes, knowing my teachers and their families, knowing my classmates and their families. 

Anyone who knows me knows how much I love public education. But, we have to admit that there are some things we really miss out on because of our massive size. And that’s ok: as long as we work to bring the closeness and intimacy to our classrooms and our hallways. We can’t grow unless we first recognize where we need to improve. And for me, I need to work harder at bringing that smallness to my clasroom next year. 

Ideas welcome. 

Leave a Reply

