Food deserts and picture frames

I’ve always had the intention of doing math through the lens of a societal issue after the AP Exam, but I’m always so tired and we’re sometimes short on time, so it’s never happened.

This year, I found a Desmos on food deserts that I was determined to use (here’s the version we did with my very light modifications).

It took us the whole hour, but it was worth it. The best part was the last slide, which linked to an interactive map that students could use to see where food deserts exist. The last slide asked: (1) Are there food deserts in Tulsa? If so, where? (2) Are there other kinds of deserts? In other words, are there things to which people should have equitable access, but experience barriers of some kind?

Here are some of their answers (names anonymized):

Are they not amazing? I love these people.

After class, one student said, “Thank you for making this. I learned about food deserts in environmental science and the way you taught it makes a lot of sense.”

Mathematics is a societal issue because it helps us debate using logic and facts and not just emotion. In an era where we are so divided, I truly believe math can bring us together. Math helps us reason critically, explain concisely, and justify accurately.

We need math citizens.

We always will.

*****

I’ve had countless people tell me, “I know you have a lot; let me know how I can help!”

And I know they have the best of intentions, but the truth is—I don’t know. (Funny, they say this is exactly what not to do to someone who is grieving, because you’re putting more on their plate, instead of just doing something for them.)

During sixth hour, a student who often stays back to ask if I need help with anything, said, “Ok. What needs to come off your walls?”

And something just clicked.

Well, now that’s a question I might finally be able to answer.

One task led to another and before we knew it, my room was a disaster, but we were making serious progress.

After an hour, two more boys joined in to lug books to various rooms.

And by 4:30, the room was totally transformed.

It’s not done, but as I told these three saints, I think I just breathed easier for the first time in months.

I finally felt a little lighter.

Like we can do this.

And that’s just it, right? We can do just about anything as long as we have people who will do it with us—walking alongside us, holding our hand, and maybe taking down some picture frames.

“In the end, maybe we’re all just walking each other home.”

Leave a comment