Running for Joy

Today was a hard day. I teach on a military base and there was an accident (a pedestrian was struck and killed) that closed off some roads outside the base and cause massive traffic problems. My 20 minute commute took 50 minutes and about half our staff couldn’t get to school on time. On our team, half of us were there before kids so we each took an extra class to start the day. For the first hour or so, I had more than 40 third graders in my room. It was barely controlled chaos.

We also had our annual fun run scheduled for today, meaning we didn’t get our planning time. During our specials (art, music, PE, etc) we were outside with our kids for the run. Only having about a 20 minute break from kids at lunch makes for a long day, even with a normal start.

But I ran with my class, all of encouraging each other as we went. Some kids sprinted while others walked. Some, not many, but some, found a good pace and just kept going. After running we got popsicles and had time to just play. It was shared joy. And much needed.

Leave a comment